Gluten-Free Certification Programme

Protecting the consumer is the primary goal of this Gluten-Free Certification Programme.

Gluten intolerance is a fairly common problem. It is characterised by adverse reactions to gluten – a protein found in wheat, barley and rye.

Celiac disease is the most severe form of gluten intolerance.

It is an autoimmune disease that affects about 1% of the population and may lead to damage in the digestive system. However 0.5 – 13% of people may also have non-celiac gluten sensitivity, a milder form of gluten intolerance that can still cause problems.

An increasing number of consumers suffer from celiac disease or non-celiac/coeliac gluten sensitivity.

Currently there is no cure for persons suffering from celiac/coeliac disease or non-celiac/coeliac gluten sensitivity or intolerance. The only mitigation or treatment is a strict gluten-free diet.

When correctly applied, BRCGS is a process designed to protect consumers by confirming that a food, drink or supplement meets strict standards for gluten free safety.

This standard provides a framework for the management and control of gluten in gluten-free products, in the manufacture, processing and packing of:

  • Processed foods, both own brand and customer branded.
  • Ingredients for use by food service


The standard includes requirements for:

  • Management Commitment
  • Monitoring Records, Deviations
  • Premises
  • Transportation, purchasing, receiving, shipping & storage
  • Equipment
  • Personnel & Training
  • Sanitation and Pest Control
  • Product Recall & Traceability
  • Allergen & Gluten Control Programmes